top of page

RELAX AT THE FLANNAGAN DAM & RESERVOIR




Authorized by Congress in the Flood Control Act of 1938 and the Federal Water Pollution Control Act Amendments of 1961, John W. Flannagan Dam and Reservoir is a part of the Big Sandy flood protection system.


The United States Army Corps of Engineers designed and supervised construction of the dams, which began in 1960 and was completed by 1964. The Corps of Engineers now operates the Flannagan for the public’s benefit. The Dam provides flood protection and a clean and reliable supply of drinking water for the residents of Dickenson and Buchanan Counties. The lake also provides low-flow augmentation, fish & wildlife enhancement and recreation for the residents of Dickenson County.


The Dam is named after the late Congressman John Williams Flannagan, Jr. who served the people of the Ninth Virginia District from 1931 to 1949. Mr. Flannagan never lost an opportunity to remind his audience that he came from the highland of Southwest Virginia, the mountains he loved so well. The Dam is dedicated in memory of his assistance in creating this flood control project and many others in the Appalachian Highlands Region.


Flannagan Marina & Powersports


Located in Dickenson County, VA, Flannagan Marina & Powersports is the place to be for boating, water sports, fishing, and great food. Nearby, you can explore some of our ATV trails or stay in one of the three campgrounds on the lake. The Marina is situated in the middle of the reservoir but is tucked away in a private cove with stunning lake and mountain views. Flannagan Dam and Reservoir is 1,145 acres overall with almost 40 miles of shoreline. The reservoir is situated 1,396 feet above sea level during the summer. In the fall, the lake is lowered 16 feet to hold additional water from winter and spring runoff.


Basic driving directions:


John W. Flannagan Dam & Reservoir is located in the Cumberland Mountains of Dickenson County, Virginia. From route 460, take route 80 into Haysi and follow the signs to the dam. From route 23, take route 83 into Clintwood and turn left onto Main Street, which becomes 607. Turn left onto 614 and then another left onto 739.


Amenities /features – 3 Campgrounds, Lower Twin, Cranesnest and Pound River. Free Launch Ramps at Spillway Area and Cranesnest, Day Use Launch Ramp at Junction. Picnic Shelters in the Below Dam Recreation Area.



コメント


コメント機能がオフになっています。
bottom of page